This Is What I Know – Week One

The wait is over, so I will jump right in.  Here is a preview of each game Week One has to offer.

Packers @ Seahawks

You remember last year’s Thursday Night opener!  Peyton Manning threw for 462 yards, 7 touchdowns, and 76 total points were scored (after a lengthy lightning day).  Seattle’s forecast for Thursday shows a high of seventy-five, zero chance of rain, and an over/under of forty-seven and a half.  I am taking the under, and I believe the first team that scores twenty points wins.

From a fantasy perspective, I believe that Marshawn Lynch and Eddie Lacy are the biggest factors in this game.  Both of these bruising running backs should tally around 100 yards, on 20+ carries.  Aaron Rodgers will be somewhat limited and Russell Wilson will have his normal 270 passing yards to multiple receivers.  You have to start everyone of fantasy relevance in this game, but most will be disappointing.

richard

Give me the Seahawks 20-17, with a defensive/special team highlight being the difference.

Saints @ Falcons

You will not be surprised when I say this one should be a shootout.  There are weapons, young and old, all over the field in this game.  Drew Brees and Matt Ryan are the beneficiaries, as they will spread the ball around to their respective weapons.  I think both quarterbacks throw for more than 300 yards, with multiple touchdowns.  Again, you have to start your offensive fantasy options in this game.  Graham will score a touchdown, several guys will pop, and others will treat you better in Week Two.  There are simply too many weapons on these teams, when healthy, not to be a little disappointed several games per year, as a fantasy owner.  I am interested to see how Pierre Thomas and Mark Ingram progress, in the Saints offense, now that Sproles is in Philadelphia.

The Falcons will be much better this year, if they can stay healthy.  They will fall just short in Week One; however, as the Saints defense will be just good enough.  Saints win, 38-30.

Vikings @ Rams

The first two games I have previewed will be a story of X’s and O’s.  In this game, fantasy owners will watch their P’s and Q’s:  Peterson, Patterson, and Quinn.  Adrian Peterson, Cordarrelle Patterson, and the Rams Defense, led by Robert Quinn, will be the key matchups here.  I am very interested to see how Norv Turner’s offense will work in Minnesota.

This matchup will be close throughout and both of these teams need to start strong, to have any chance in their divisions.  The Rams, led by their defense and Zac Stacy, win by a field goal on Sunday.

Browns @ Steelers

The Browns offense is not good, but their defense is stout.  When these teams meet on Sunday, I expect an ugly, competitive AFC North style game.  Le’Veon Bell and Antonio Brown are the only players I’m comfortable with in this matchup.  I will say that Miles Austin does something in this game, to make him a hot waiver commodity for Week Two.

Zero, non-quarterback, players record over 100 yards in this game, add five total turnovers, and give me the Steelers, at home, 17-13.

Jaguars @ Eagles

The Eagles win this game, as they are my lock of the week.  I will be honest; I don’t know anything about the Jaguars this year.  Bortles was drafted, Gerhart was added, Jones-Drew escaped, and this team simply should not be very good. 

Foles, McCoy, Maclin, Cooper, and the Eagles Defense are all valuable this weekend.  Darren Sproles, like Austin, will be a waiver wire guy early next week.  And, this game is over by halftime.

Raiders @ Jets

These write-ups are getting sad; even though, I think this game will be pretty close in the fourth quarter.  I can envision a welcoming party for the Jets new comers.  Chris Johnson should get a good start toward another 1,000 yard rushing season, Eric Decker will pull in a touchdown, and Michael Vick will see some Wildcat action.  Speaking of new comers, Jones-Drew should also have a good day in this game.  I am using the Jets Defense this week, against a rookie quarterback, expecting multiple turnovers.

I’ll take the Jets 24-17.

Bengals @ Ravens

The second AFC North game on this week’s slate will provide more offense than the Browns and Steelers.  Start the upper round players you drafted in this game.  Giovani Bernard will break out in this game and AJ Green will prove to be dominant again this season.  Baltimore’s defense will keep them in the game and big play ability, at the wide receiver position, will push Baltimore to their first win of the season.

Ravens – 28-24

Bills @ Bears

You should know by now how I feel about Matt Forte.  Not to mention, I acquired him in a trade while working on this post.  I will try to refrain from going on and on regarding Matt Forte.  Jay Cutler, Brandon Marshall, and Alshon Jeffery will be enough for the Bears to beat the Bills.  Watch out for CJ Spiller, however.  I expect him to have a good game in this one.  The Bear’s defense is not very good and the Bills have enough talent to stay in the game beyond halftime.

Bears – 30-17

Redskins @ Texans

I have talked about the Redskins’ weapons previously, and predicted them to win the NFC East, but they will have a challenge in Houston on Sunday.  The first team to see Watt and Clowney could cause a circus for RGIII and the Redskins.  (Nothing against circus clowns!)  Under pressure, a lot, the Redskins will rely heavily on Alfred Morris, Pierre Garcon, and Jordan Reed.  They will also try to get DeSean Jackson in a groove, but week two against the Jaguars, in Washington, should be a better day for him.

Houston’s defense keeps them in the game, but the Redskins pull away in the fourth quarter, 24-14.

Titans @ Chiefs

Starting an offensive player, not named Charles, in this game is probably a mistake. 

Chiefs – 17-7

Patriots @ Dolphins

I’m excited to see Tom Brady and Gronkowski work together, again.  I will also be interested to see what happens in the Patriots backfield.  Brady will spread the ball around, Gronkowski will score a touchdown, and the Patriots will be too much for the Dolphins.

New England – 28-17

Panthers @ Buccaneers

I may have been too harsh on Tampa Bay in my previous posts.  Lovie Smith, Josh McCown, Doug Martin, Vincent Jackson, and Mike Evans, paired with a decent defense give this team a lot to be excited about.  I expect the Panthers to struggle this year and would only trust Cam Newton, Greg Olsen, and their defense as fantasy options. 

I am going with the home team here.  Give me the Bucs in a bizarre football game.

49ers @ Cowboys

Let me start with the defenses in this matchup.  Both teams, on that side of the ball, are plagued with injuries and suspensions.  One of these teams is reaching forty points.  Start everyone you can on offense.

They have not broken my heart yet this season, so I will pick the Dallas Cowboys.  You heard me, 41-34!  Get your popcorn ready.

Slam Dunk

This week’s slam dunk is based on the Cowboy’s defense being really bad and Colin Kaepernick not being very good himself.  If you have Colin Kaepernick, play him and then trade him, as Week One will be his highest fantasy point total of the year.  THIS IS WHAT I KNOW!

1-14-13-Colin-Kaepernick_full_600

Colts @ Broncos

Wes Welker is out, suspended.  I expect Emmanuel Sanders to take a big role in this high voltage offense, in Welker’s absence.  Start all of your Broncos, as Demaryius Thomas and Julius Thomas will also see more action to fill that void.  As for the Colts, I think this year is the year Andrew Luck takes the next step and I believe Trent Richardson will rebound, but not necessarily this weekend.

Remember how I started this post?  Peyton at home, throwing seven touchdowns, against a Super Bowl contender will not happen again.  Put him down for four touchdowns and give Ball one rushing, as well.  Broncos win fairly easily, 35-20.

Giants @ Lions

I don’t expect much from the Giants this season, or in this game.  The Lions offensive players will be worth their draft price in this game, I expect.  I am intrigued to see how Bush and Bell split the workload in the Lions backfield.  There will be some interesting things that stand out in this game, but I think the Lions are the better team.

The Lions win this matchup pretty comfortably.

Chargers @ Cardinals

If you can stay awake on the East Coast, this game will be fun to watch.  Both offenses can be explosive, the Cardinals have playmakers on their defense, and the late game commentary on Monday Night Football, in Week One, is worth the extra cup of coffee on Tuesday.  Don’t forget, there will be plenty of fantasy matchups determined as the clock strikes two o’clock Tuesday morning.  I think all offensive players you drafted are very usable here.  I am relying on Antonio Gates, instead of Ladarius Green, as I am unsure how that split is going to work at this point. 

Hey, you!  The guy playing against Carson Palmer, he is going to beat you.  Larry Fitzgerald will beat you, other guy laughing at the Carson Palmer sentence.  I can’t forget about you, poor guys facing Arizona’s defense or either kicker, because all of you will lose also. 

Oh yeah, Cardinals win by a field goal and that guy just slept through his first fantasy win of the season…

Showtime Picks

Le’Veon My Decker vs. Manning of Steel 2.0 (C.W. vs. Lucas)

Lucas always beats me and is projected to beat me 79.70 to 78.30.  I will pick Lucas in week one for the following reasons:

  • I have Peterson against the Rams, so I am not expecting his best game of the season.
  • I am relying on three guys in that late Monday Night game (Fitzgerald, Gates, and Novak).
  • Lucas has a clear advantage at Quarterback and Defense (Peyton v. Brady and Seahawks v. Jets)

Spaghetti Monsters vs. Putin$$$OnUkraineium (Mikey vs. Cribb)

Cribb is projected to win this matchup 85.17 to 78.24, but I view this matchup much closer than that.  I will take the underdog and side with Mikey based on these beliefs:

  • Matt Ryan vs. Nick Foles is a wash.
  • Julio Jones and Alshon Jeffery vs. Brandon Marshall and Percy Harvin slightly favor Jones/Jeffery (Mikey).
  • Le’Veon Bell and Zac Stacy vs. Jamaal Charles and Arian Foster should favor Charles/Foster (Cribb).
  • Cribb is playing the Saints defense against Matt Ryan and Julio Jones. A touchdown pass from Ryan to Jones would be a dagger in what I view as a close matchup.

Dezzie Does Dallas vs. RockOutWithUrHawkOut (Joe vs. Alex)

Joe is projected to win 81.10 to 79.22.  I am taking Joe by a larger margin than the projections show and this is why:

  • Joe has Tony Romo and Dez Bryant. I see them hooking up for at least one touchdown in their game.
  • Jordan Reed, who I discussed earlier in this post.
  • Lynch, who I expect to play well against the Packers.
  • Alex has Andrew Luck, who will likely be playing from behind and under pressure.
  • Jordy Nelson, who will be going up against Sherman and the Seattle Defense.
  • LeSean McCoy could have a huge game, Alex could win. Otherwise, I just do not see it happening.

Shabbat Delhomme vs. The Wild Puff Cat’s (Tov vs. Paul)

Just like in a wrestling match, Paul is projected to beat Tov fairly easily, 81.68 to 74.40.  If Tov continues to bench Gronkowski, I will go with Paul in this matchup.  If Gronkowski plays for Tov, Tov wins and this is why:

  • He has Drew Brees, Calvin Johnson, Cordarrelle Patterson, and potentially Gronk.
  • I can see Gronk scoring two touchdowns.
  • Two touchdowns from Gronk will match Demaryius Thomas’ and Montee Ball’s big games.
  • Paul has Robert Griffin the Third and Pierre Garcon. If they do not play well, against Watt and Clowney, Tov takes this matchup.

Beats By Ray vs. Dirty Sanchez 2.0 (Deavers vs. Zach)

This projection is as close as they come, at 73.31 to 73.29.  I quickly picked Deavers after glancing at this matchup, and this is why:

  • Zach has Aaron Rodgers and he will struggle at Seattle.
  • Deavers has Matt Stafford and he will play well, at home, against the Giants.
  • Obviously, all of the other positions are very closely compared in this matchup.

Fantasy football is back to stay, at least for sixteen weeks.  Sit back and enjoy your Sundays filled with great food, cheap beer, ups, downs, victory, and heartbreak.  Enjoy Week One and I will see you back here for my look into Week Two.

*All fantasy projections are subject to change. And, I cannot be held responsible for bad predictions or typos, as I do not have an editor or research team.

Leave a comment